top of page
Search

My First Experience Presenting at the McNair Conference: A Reflection

Attending and presenting at the McNair Conference at UW Superior was an experience that will stay with me for a long time. It was my first time showcasing my research at a conference, and I was filled with a mix of excitement and nerves as I prepared to share my work.


Since January, I’ve been working diligently on my project, which focuses on air ventilation at the UWEC Children’s Nature Academy and how it impacts the reduction of illnesses among the children there. My research, which spanned over the summer, led to some mixed conclusions. On one hand, the air ventilation system did seem to reduce the incidence of illnesses, which was a positive outcome. However, I also found that it wasn't effective in filtering out some components of air pollutants, like CO2, due to the small size of these particles. This realization highlighted the complexities of indoor air quality and the need for further research in this area.


The McNair Conference was a refreshing experience, partly because of its small, intimate setting. The UW Superior campus, with its cozy, wood cabin feel, made me feel right at home. I appreciated the tight-knit atmosphere, which was enhanced by the sense of community among the participants. Most of the attendees were from schools within the UW system, which added to the familiar, collegial environment.


One aspect of the conference that particularly stood out to me was the opening speech, where the importance of land acknowledgment was emphasized. The acknowledgment of the Ojibwe people and the land on which we stood was a meaningful reminder of the history and significance of the place we were in. It struck me how many institutions might overlook this, making it all the more important that UW Superior took the time to honor it.


As the conference progressed and we were split into different rooms for our presentations, my nerves began to build. I was especially anxious when I realized I was the first on the list to present. However, I felt some relief when the organizers had the online presenters go before me. Watching their presentations was fascinating; their visuals were impressive, and the range of topics, even within our divided fields of study, was broad and intriguing. From social issues like the lack of primary care in third-world countries to ecological concerns like the invasion of the buckthorn plant in the Midwest, the diversity of research was inspiring.

When it was finally my turn to present, I felt a mix of confidence and anxiety. I was relieved that I managed to smile throughout and read my script well, but I noticed that I relied on filler words and made minimal eye contact, which is something I’d like to improve on in the future. Despite these minor setbacks, I was encouraged by the thoughtful questions I received from the audience. They asked why I chose the UWEC Children’s Nature Academy as my study site and what directions my future research might take. These questions not only validated my work but also pushed me to think more deeply about the implications and next steps for my research.


Picture 1: Me presenting at UW Superior on the results section of my research.



As I walked away from my presentation, I felt an overwhelming sense of relief and accomplishment. Presenting at the McNair Conference was more than just an academic exercise; it was a significant milestone in my journey as a researcher. It challenged me, taught me valuable lessons, and gave me a glimpse of what it means to be part of a larger academic community.


Picture 2: Me with the cover of my slide after the presentation was over.


Overall, the conference was a positive experience that I’ll carry with me as I continue my academic journey. I’m grateful for the opportunity to have presented my research and to have connected with others who are equally passionate about their fields of study. I look forward to applying what I’ve learned to future presentations and research endeavors.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page