top of page
Search

My Journey to the US: A Search for Opportunity

Updated: Apr 2

April 2nd 2024


I transferred to the University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire in January 2023, looking forward to the research opportunities, but it has been challenging to find opportunities to join a lab as a transfer student. Fortunately, I have joined the McNairs Scholars program which gave me guidance into finding research opportunities and making me a strong candidate for graduate school.


My Background: 


My parents were originally from Bangladesh then moved to the US for a better life. I was born in Chicago, Illinois and raised in Toronto, Canada. At the age of 11, due to my dad’s health we moved to Malaysia – a whole new country I had no idea existed. Malaysia was rich with culture and intricate infrastructure incorporated with lush greenery unlike the US or Canada. Malaysians were very kind hearted and friendly people in general, casting warm smiles and greetings whenever I passed by. Things turned around when I started going to school. When students found out I was Bengali, the once friendly smiles on their face would disappear. In Malaysia, Bengali people were mistreated and mostly lived illegally. People would call me names or tell me to go back to Bangladesh.  I had never been to Bangladesh before and did not even speak Bangla which was the native language. Telling them I was American helped, but others thought Americans were only faired skinned, hence, the discrimination continued. 




Malaysia offered promising educational opportunities, but the field of Neuroscience and biological sciences, which I aspired to pursue, faced limitations. My teachers often highlighted deficiencies in scientific education and job prospects such as lack of funding to develop laboratory technologies or train scientists professionally. They would mainly rely on neighboring countries such as Singapore to get lab tests and research done. Due to this, I had the goal to move to the US and complete my degree there as there would be more opportunities in my field. Though my parents did not want to send me so fast as they thought I was too young at the time to travel alone. I then discovered the “American Degree Transfer Program,” which enabled students to study in a US-based curriculum in Malaysia for two years then transfer credits to a universities in the US. 


Extracurriculars and Research Related Experiences: 




Once I enrolled in the American Degree Transfer Program, I pursued the role of student body

vice president, overseeing graduation ceremonies, orientations, fundraisers, and general meetings. Additionally, I served as president of the pre-medical professions society, coordinating blood donation drives, presentations, and club meetings. Despite these involvements, research opportunities were limited for non-Malaysian citizens. I craved for research, viewing it as a journey into the unknown driven by curiosity and the quest for new insights. I particularly wanted to research in the field of healthcaredoing clinical research as I felt that was a field that needed further growth. Although I was not able to participate in research, I still had research related coursework. In my biopsychology class, I wrote an article where I explored how increasing levels of Gamma-aminobutyric acid (GABA) and dopamine can enhance human cognitive abilities. Research suggested that early humans had lower levels of dopamine and GABA, correlating with lower intelligence. In my biology course, I investigated dopamine's effects on Daphnia heart rates by injecting them with dopamine. Surprisingly, their heart rates remained constant due to the absence of dopamine-detecting receptors. This experience underscored the beauty of research: embracing unexpected results and deriving knowledge from them.


Current Research:


I am currently conducting research in the field of Public Health, with a focus on noise disturbances in residential areas. My study explores how different noise frequencies affect individuals and their well-being. Using a sound calibrator, I measure noise frequencies and pressure levels to identify their sources and develop effective mitigation strategies. While this research differs from my previous endeavors, I have developed a genuine interest in this field. There is immense satisfaction in addressing the concerns of our communities.

I chose to pursue research in Public Health because it resonates with my passion for addressing health issues on a broader scale. Growing up in diverse environments like Malaysia, I witnessed firsthand the disparities in healthcare access and their profound impact on people's lives. These experiences fueled my desire to advocate for equitable healthcare solutions that benefit everyone, regardless of their background or circumstances.

15 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page